Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Ideas on how to visualise this needed

I'm not sure if this is the place to post this, if not, I will move/remove it if advised...

I'm looking for some visualisation ideas. I'm an experienced Power BI Developer, but totally lost for ideas on how to achieve this brief:

To give context:
I have around 20,000 open, in progress, orders at any point in time, the dataset has the following on each row:

Order numberDate order createdReporting datePlanned ship dateother columns with information about the order

Each order is added as a new row to the data for every date it is open (reporting date) and then disappears from the data entirely the day after it is completed, the planned ship date is usually a future date, but not always as the shipment may have been missed and not yet rescheduled.

What I want to achieve:
I am trying to find a way to visualise this so that I can track counts of new orders, how many have been completed, how many were active at each point in time and how that is trending over time. I'd also like to see, for a given date,how many were due to be shipped in the future and how many missed (this one is easy, but perhaps relevant to any ideas)
In my mind I'm trying to find a way to create a continuous waterfall that shows the ups and downs every day, or rolled up to every week, month, etc, does that exist or are there any ideas on other ways to visualise this?
I've tried so many ways of cutting the data and different chart option and nothing really gives me the view that i'm after - I'm think I'm now blinded by trying so many things I feel I'm going in circles!

Help, please!
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous