Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

snaruma
Regular Visitor

How to use Measure in X Axis in chart

Hi,

I am new to Power BI and will appreciate any help with my question.

So, I have a list of 100 accounts with the following 3 columns:

(1) Normalized Electric Usage per Square footage occupied (Norm_Usage_SFT)

(2) Quartile (Norm/SFT) - this is a derived field where I binned my 100 accounts into 4 quartiles based on their usage in column1

(3) Heating/Cooling Load/Square Footage (Heating_Cooling_ KWH_SFT) for these 100 accounts. The sample dataset is below:

data.JPG

I have created a measure which is a quartile calculation: DynamicQ based on column 3 (Heating_Cooling_ KWH_SFT) which calculates and bins the values in column 3 into 4 buckets. The dataset after adding the measure looks like:

data2.JPG

Now, I would like to use this measure (DynamicQ) in the X axis of a bar graph and count the number of accounts. This measure has 4 values: 1, 2, 3, 4 corresponding to the buckets created. I want the output to show something like this: The 4 bars correspond to the 4 values of the measure (1,2,3 and 4) and the counts should represent the number of accounts (count of account_ID).

data3.JPG

How can I achieve that? I am unable to do the graph above since a measure is not getting added into the X Axis. I want to add count of account_ids into the Y axiz. Is there any workaround to do that? Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

5 REPLIES 5
Sudhavi_84
Helper V
Helper V

HI Snaruma,

Have you managed to get measures in X Axis? 

I created a measures for dates, and it is working as expected in Table view, But when I select cluster column chart, can not drag dates in to Shared Axis.

Any help>

v-yulgu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @snaruma,