Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Hell-1931
Helper II
Helper II

How to set Fiscal Year value (Fiscal Year to Date) in Power BI Desktop

Hi, 

I am new in Power BI (sorry for this type of questions)

I have [Date] table and a Report.

In that Report I created a Slicer, where I can select a date according to which the data on my report will be shown.

My Fiscal Year dates - 07/01/2019 - 06/30/2020 = FY2020

My goal is to set a default Fiscal Year to Date in my Slicer, so that they would automatically change when the date will become after 6/30/2020, for example - change to FY2021, etc

How do I do that?

My [Date] table has [YearMonth] field, I am using for my slicer:

Capture.JPG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
shaunwilks
Helper V
Helper V

If I understand it correctly you need to add a Column to you Date table and Label it "Fiscal Year".

That column could be something like..

Year = If('Date Calendar'[Cal Month Nbr]<=6,'Date Calendar'[Cal Year],'Date Calendar'[Cal Year]+1)

That way in your slicers you can display the Fiscal year for selection.

If you are looking at YTD measures to calculate totals for the Fiscal year look at TOTALYTD and SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR functions. the TOTALYTD has a parameter where you specify the "year end day and month".
So its does it calcs usiong the current date and time to show values between todays date, dating back to the year end date and month you specified. 

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
shaunwilks
Helper V
Helper V

If I understand it correctly you need to add a Column to you Date table and Label it "Fiscal Year".

Year = If('Date Calendar'[Cal Month Nbr]<=6,'Date Calendar'[Cal Year],'Date Calendar'[Cal Year]+1)