Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

twowaysyellow
Frequent Visitor

How to prepare and model an unusual fact table for cohort analysis?

As a complete beginner, I know this might be an ambitious use case to follow, but it is nonetheless the one we need to get to :-).

We would like to measure and compare retention rates based on referral codes. I have found some examples online on how to make cohort analyses. Still, I’m unsure how to model our data, as our business is not a traditional subscription or eCommerce business.

The best way to illustrate our situation is by comparing us to an auction site.

Our “fact” table data from our production system is structured by transactions where each line item looks like this.

orderID   sellerUserID   buyerUserID   amount   date
11011202022-12-24 

We have another table with user info like this.

userID   creationDate   referralCode
102022-12-01ref01 

From looking at examples online, I gather it would be better for us to have a fact table that is a little bit different. Something like:

transactionID   transactionType   orderID   userID   amount   date
1sell110202022-12-24
2buy111202022-12-24 

The next thing I would start working on is learning how to convert our existing fact table in Power BI to the one proposed.

Am I on the right track, or should I think differently about this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

IMO you should no to this direction, but the answer will be like this.

Direct answer

From this:

bolfri_0-1671911794499.png

To this:

bolfri_1-1671911807223.png

Power Query M:

let