Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

AColeman
Frequent Visitor

How to link Table A to Table B - Vlookup?

Hi Guys

Im pretty new to PowerBi so im rely relying on these forums alot.

I have the following DataModel in PowerBI but am struggling to achieve the following:

I have the following table: AccountStructure

It contains the following 2 calculations.

AccountStructure.png

Then i also Have a table caled CostCentreStructure which contains the CCLevel2 calculation

CostCentreStructure.png

Now this together i created in accountstructure the calculation CCACC which is a unique key which will link to a table i have 

called Comments as per above with a calculated column called CommLink

So CommLink will link back to CCACC to provide me with the comments details.

My table linking structure looks as follow,but ofcourse i cant link my Comments Table to my AccountStructure table

TableLinks.png

So i want to be able to achieve the following:

Visualization.png

Any assistance will be greatly appreciated

5 REPLIES 5
MalS
Resolver III
Resolver III

I don't quite follow all the calcs, but I assume the problem is that you can't link AccountStructures[CCACC]  to Comments[CommLink] because that is a many to many relationship?

If so, you need another table that contains only unique values of your key field. Then you can create a relationship from both AccountStructures[CCACC]  and Comments[CommLink] to this other table. 

If you don't have a table of unique values, you can create one. Assuming one of your existing tables contains every possible value of the key field (even if some values occur multiple times in the table) you can:

1. Edit queries

2. Right click on the query that contains every possible value of the key field, and select Reference

3. Right click on the key field column and Remove Other Columns