Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

newbie49

Help designing a matrix to identify market gaps

Hello!

I'm a total newb to Power BI. I'm porting over a bunch of reporting that I designed on a legacy and I'm trying to replicate functionality. For simplicty sake, let's say I have 2 tables:

Locations:

IDNameRank
1Okely Dokely Store2
2Storesamazing1
3Store of Meh3

And Sales:

SKUQtyStore IDRep

Molly

78922Judy
12342Judy

I want to create a table like so:

NameRank123789# Products
Storesamazing1XX1
Okely Dokely Store2X 1
Store of Meh3  0
# of stores 21 

So far the best solution I've come up with on my own is a Matrix Visualization with rows containing Location.Name, columns containing Sales.Sku, and Values is a Measure as follows: 

StoreCarriesProduct = if(COUNTROWS(Sales)>0,"⦿","◦")

It's pretty close, but there are several problems I can't seem to solve:
1) how can I have a subtotal on each row that shows the number of products in that particular store?
2) how can I have a subtotal on each column that shows the number of stores that product is in?
3) how can add the rank column that is sortable? (This is just a column out of the db... it's not calculated)
4) since I'm adding the location names from the locations table with no concept of Rep when I try to filter by Rep it successfully removes the sales data (the dots go away in the visual), but the stores that don't belong to the Rep remain. How can I solve that?

Thank you in advance for your help! I'm super stoked to learn more about this platform!

Cheers!

Edit: Here's the basic Matrix I currently have along with the sample data in a pbix: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Xjv37mknB_ROKUpzE5uBwOhWpICVOrGv/view?usp=sharing 
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yueyunzh-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi , @newbie49