Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Artefact
Helper II
Helper II

Formula of calculated column gone and formula bar greyed out

Hello,

I made a caclulated column in a table which source is an Excel file on Sharepoint. Suddenly I can't see the formula of this column in the formula bar. And now which each refresh, the is no recalculation of this column. The formula bar is greyed out, when I click on the column. Somehow the complete column and te formula have materialized in some way! How is this possible? I can make a new calculated column. Any suggestions?

5 REPLIES 5
polymathy2017
Advocate III
Advocate III

After two years, still no acceptable response to this question? 

I just ran into this. I'm very new to power BI. I don't know if this is helpful or not.  I had a calculated measure. As I was building out the project, I actually had a copy of the same measure in another table. When I clicked on the other version (original measure), the formula bar and code appeared. When I clicked on the copy of the measure, I had a grey bar.

v-deddai1-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Artefact ,

Would you please show us the screenshot of your issue? And please check if the table in import model:

Capture1.PNG

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Best Regards,

Dedmon Dai

Artefact_0-1603946485661.png

Hello Dedmon,

The column "accountmanager" is a calculated field. And as you can see the DAX formula does not show and the formula bar stays greyd out. 

Hi @Artefact ,

Did you create the calculated column in power bi desktop by dax ? Where did you create the calculated column in excel or query editor? If so, it will be treated as common column without formula.