Forum Discussion

braun1's avatar
braun1
Regular Visitor
4 years ago
Solved

Formatting Tool is not available

The Formatting Tool (identified with a paint brush icon) is not showing up as available to use in the Visulizations tab. Is there a way to enable this feature? Do I need an updated version? 

Current Screenshot:

Expectation:

 I am ultimately looking to use the Conditional Formating functionality. 

  • Hello, the formatting icon has changed from the one you are showing there (i think its still the same in service). The icon will look likt this:

     

     

    Youll find conditional formatting options for the likes of backgrounds and titles etc in there but to get at conditional formatting for values, its easier to right click the value in the fields section and choose conditional fomatting.

     

  • Hi, braun1 

    The new Format pane in Power BI Desktop is still in preview.

    If you need to turn off the preview, go to File > Options and settings > Options > Preview features > New Format pane.

     

    Please refer to this official document for more details.

    The new Format pane in Power BI Desktop (preview)

     

    Best Regards,
    Community Support Team _ Eason

2 Replies

  • samdthompson's avatar
    samdthompson
    Icon for Memorable Member rankMemorable Member

    Hello, the formatting icon has changed from the one you are showing there (i think its still the same in service). The icon will look likt this:

     

     

    Youll find conditional formatting options for the likes of backgrounds and titles etc in there but to get at conditional formatting for values, its easier to right click the value in the fields section and choose conditional fomatting.

     

  • v-easonf-msft's avatar
    v-easonf-msft
    Icon for Community Support rankCommunity Support

    Hi, braun1 

    The new Format pane in Power BI Desktop is still in preview.

    If you need to turn off the preview, go to File > Options and settings > Options > Preview features > New Format pane.

     

    Please refer to this official document for more details.

    The new Format pane in Power BI Desktop (preview)

     

    Best Regards,
    Community Support Team _ Eason