Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Valnus
Helper II
Helper II

Filter by slicers

Hi 

I have two Slicers ( date and company ) 

How do I set it that if there in nothing selected in eaither slicer that no visual on the report shows any information. I am new to DAX and tried to create a messure to filter but it's not working. 

Any ideas ? 

Untitled.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi, @Valnus 

According to my research, I must say that turning on the Select All option does not make the case work, after my further testing, the ISFILTER function returns False when Select All is checked. i.e. it is not possible to distinguish between the two states of Check Select All and No Item Selected, which is the key of the problem.

vangzhengmsft_0-1647942092194.png

But I found another workaround, hahaha, please still turn off the Select All option in the slicer. As an alternative, we use bookmarks to keep track of the select all status.
In other words, let the bookmarklet do the job of selecting all instead of turn on and check Select All.
So now you can use the dropdown list, in which case the slider is also a good choice.

vangzhengmsft_1-1647942190485.png

Please refer to the attachment below for details.

Hope this helps.

Best Regards,
Community Support Team _ Zeon Zheng

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
v-angzheng-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @Valnus 
Take a look at the example below, if I don't select country and product then the visual doesn't return me any information.
Steps:
1. Summarize the fields used by the slicer as a new calculated table.
2. Then create the measure below and filter for items with a measure equal to 1 in the filter pane.

Result: