Forum Discussion
Filter Pan , Lock and Unlock + All Filter Opened on BI Service while i lock in PBI Desktop
Hi , First photo is on PBI Desktop and Second pic is PBI Service ,
On PBI Desktop i have filtered to what i prefer and then lock it, when i Publish it , all Filter are Apply to ( ALL ) while i set on PBI desktop to the filter i set , Actually i dun want my user to see (ALL) like this , Since i already filter it in PBI desktop ,
That's why my Report on BI service turns All Wrong while it filter to (ALL ) without permission. Please see the yellow highlight
Can anyone tell me how to fix this ? i want my PBI desktop and service to be the same.
Hi Chanleakna123,
Firstly, if nothing goes wrong, your filters would be the same in the Service. My guess is someone who has the Edit permission made some changes.
Secondly, I think the personal default bookmark could be the solution for your scenario. Please refer to blog/announcing-personal-bookmarks-in-the-power-bi-service/.
BTW, the Persistent Filter option seems to do the opposite. Please refer to blog/announcing-persistent-filters-in-the-service/.
Best Regards,
4 Replies
- Abraxus
Advocate II
Hi Chanleakna123,
Just a suggestion but, have you tried using bookmarks? In all similar situations, I've found using bookmarks to be the most reliable way of making sure the chosen data selection remains in place when the Power BI file/dashboard/report is shared or posted elsewhere (though the lock should work on its own).
The main link for further info:
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/desktop-bookmarks
Essentially though, you would first make the desired selection, then create a bookmark whilst that data is selected (you can always update the bookmark as well if need be, after further refining the data selection), then save it after the fact. When published/exported, it should then respect the original selection.
Regards,
Abraxus.
- Chanleakna123
Post Prodigy
Is there any solution if I dun using bookmarks ? Still have way to settled it ?- Abraxus
Advocate II
I'm not sure how effective it would be, but you could also try turning off the ability for users to manipulate the filters? It's within the options menu, under Report settings, as highlighted below. You could try saving it in that state then publishing it to the service?: