Forum Discussion

whatlje1's avatar
whatlje1
Regular Visitor
7 years ago

Export to PDF not Exprting to correct Size

Hello,

 

    When I am Exporting to PDF via the Desktop, I have selected the Letter page size, the PDD shows it is as an 8 1/2 X 11. But when it populates, there are about 1 in Gaps at the Top, Right, and bottom Margins. When you look at the desktop version, it looks perfectly fine.  Any suggestions?DesktopPDF

21 Replies

  • hipau's avatar
    hipau
    Frequent Visitor

    I was able to fix the issue by selecting View > Page View > "Fit to Actual Size" (or one of the other options may work).


    Also, resetting the page information. e.g. I had my page originally set to 16:9, and I changed it to Custom, then back to 16:9.

    • alopezlop's avatar
      alopezlop
      Icon for Advocate II rankAdvocate II

      Not working in version 2.121.903.0 64-bit (September 2023). For some strange reason, the export has stopped working. It had worked for a long time, even with this version. Maybe there is a problem in Windows 10 and 11?

      • aschutt's avatar
        aschutt
        Icon for Advocate I rankAdvocate I

        The export to pdf feature worked for me up until last Thursday (10/19/2023).  I have no idea why it stopped working properly.  It seems like there is a page sizing issue when it exports.  Only a portion of the page appears to export and it seems as though it is zoomed in on just that portion of the page.  

    • Nikitakhale's avatar
      Nikitakhale
      New Member

      Thankyou. Fir to actual size really helped 🙂

  • This worked for me most of the time.  Before exporting to pdf, try View--> Fit to Page.  Then File--> Export to PDF.  

  • v-juanli-msft's avatar
    v-juanli-msft
    Icon for Community Support rankCommunity Support

    Hi whatlje1 

    I can reproduce your problem.

    Based on my understanding, the Gaps are the default gaps in a pdf file, like when we open a word file, there are already gaps.

    Anyhow, i will check with Product team whether this is a bug or not.

     

    Best Regards
    Maggie

     

    Community Support Team _ Maggie Li
    If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

    • Anonymous's avatar
      Anonymous
      Not applicable

      Hello whatlje1 

       

      Make sure you have the filter pane collapsed when you export the PDF, I had to do that in order to get rid of awful, large white spaces in the top, right, and bottom areas of my PDF exports.

       

      Another thing that may help somewhat is to completely disable the "updated filter pane" - File -> Options and Settings -> Options -> Current File \ Report settings

       

       

       

      I found this to be a requirement in order to avoid larger white space on the right side of my exported PDF files than on the left side--this seems to be an issue that was created in the May 2019 release (v. 2.69.5467.1751) because reverting back to the April 2019 release did not produce this issue.

       

      Ultimately, I don't know how to approach the basic question you have asked because I have been unable to export a normal 8.5" x 11" PDF in Power BI Desktop, they always come out sized 9.5" x 12". I have been able to achieve an 8.5" x 11" PDF by taking the export and then printing to PDF, but that creates its own set of issues and, in my opinion, should never be necessary since the standard "Letter" size should be the actual size of a piece of paper.

       

      v-juanli-msft  No matter how you look at it, *something* is wrong here. I just want to be able to export a PDF in the normal size, this shouldn't be so hard.

      • whatlje1's avatar
        whatlje1
        Regular Visitor

        I was able to Colapse the Filter Pane and export it with less margins on the sides. For now, That is a good work around.

    • Anonymous's avatar
      Anonymous
      Not applicable

      Hello any news on this issue?

      I haven't had to update my reports until recently, and now it just so happens that all of them are unreadable because of scaling issues.

      I've tried all of the solutions/workarounds i could find online (including the ones in this thread) but none have worked for me so far.

       

      Would really appreciate any feedback on this issue.

       

      Regards

      HJ

    • whatlje1's avatar
      whatlje1
      Regular Visitor

      Great! Thank you for looking into it. It just looks a bit decieving when you see it in Power BI vs what actually shows in PDF format.

  • Dimitriy's avatar
    Dimitriy
    Regular Visitor

    Only one way how to export to PDF that I found is => publish power BI to my working area, and from this area I can export to PDF in a properly size