Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Find everything you need to get certified on Fabric—skills challenges, live sessions, exam prep, role guidance, and more. Get started

LuciD
Frequent Visitor

Date filtering

Hi, everyone!

I'm relatively new to Power Bi and was having trouble with implementing a date filter.

I have a database with car`s number plate and expiration date of ITP. A car may have multiple end of date for ITP

(example databese : X1092  - end date 01.01.2021; X1090 - end date 01.01.2021; X1092 - end date 04.04.2024 - the results must be 04.04.2024 for all the lines where the X1092 car`s number appear - see the table below)

The task is to have a new column with a date filter that check (in all the database) if a car number has an ITP valid until (bring the Max end date for that car number) . If it expired vs Today (like daily), need to see a message, something like "Expired. Please contact"

My database  My needs
Car numberExpiration date  Car numberExpiration dateValidity Check
X109201.01.2021  X109201.01.202104.04.2024
X109001.01.2021  X109001.01.202104.04.2024
X200001.04.2022  X200001.04.2022Expired. Please contact
X202101.05.2022  X202101.05.2022Expired. Please contact
X109002.04.2024  X109002.04.202402.04.2024
X109204.04.2024  X109204.04.202404.04.2024

Thanks in advance for any help

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @LuciD ,

I created a sample pbix file(see attachment) for you, please check whether that is what you want. You can create a calculated column as below:

Validity Check = 
VAR _maxdate =
    CALCULATE (
        MAX ( 'Table'[Expiration date] ),
        FILTER ( 'Table', 'Table'[Car number] = EARLIER ( 'Table'[Car number] ) )
    )
RETURN
    IF (
        DATEDIFF ( TODAY (), _maxdate, DAY ) > 0,
        FORMAT ( _maxdate, "dd.mm.yyyy" ),
        "Expired. Please contact"
    )

yingyinr_0-1657776060375.png