Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

aekoll
Frequent Visitor

Date Table Relating to Two Tables with Dates

Hi everyone,

First of all thank you very much for trying to help me. I am relatively new to Power BI and still learning. I am currently facing an issue where I can not wrap my head around.

I have a Datamodel with four different tables in it. I will briefly explain them, but I also attached a sample Power BI Dataset  where I rebuilt my issue with simple excel files. I need to create a report with the timekeeping entries of our workers. For that I have:

• A table with all our workers (users) and their ID. Simple as that.
  • A table with all Timeentries per user, day and project. This means that a user worked the specific amount of time on a specific date on a specific project.
  • A table with the Weekly total per user and week. The total value is  the calculation of all time that was worked in a week minus the time someone should work in a week for each user. This results in the amount of over- or under (do you say it like that? ;)) time a worker had for each week.
  • A date table with the min date of either the weekly total or timeentries (whatever is lower) and the max date of the higher date of the two.

In the end I want to reate a table that shows each user, their total time that they worked (so sum of timeentries) and their current over- or undertime total (so sum of total in weekly total) and to be able to filter that with my date table.

Screenshot 2022-11-09 at 12.30.27.png

However I can not get the relations between all of those tables setup in a way that this works. I would always end up with a circular relationship that does obviously not work. Do you have any ideas on how to slove this or any approach on how I could find a solution for this.