Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

rlansing
Resolver I
Resolver I

DAX: Running Total in Pivot Table (Works until filtered)

Hello,

This is my first time asking a question. I am trying to model my data, which is approximately 7 million rows of product movement data. Included in the dataset are references to Shipment Date, Warehouse Number, Store Number, Product information (UPC), and the quantity of cases shipped.

I need help on multiple measures (I am reading Building Data Models with PowerPivot 2015 edition). For this problem I have a Matrix table showing Product description, Qty, Year Previous Qty, the % change between the two, a Product Ranking.

What I am trying to build is a running total for each item. So basically the "Cumulative Qty" measure would show the cumulative total of the row and any that ranked higher. This will allow us to build a cumulative share measure that will allow us to focus on the top X % of the products produced by a manufacturer. I hope that all makes sense. here is the measure:

Cumulative Qty = IF ( HASONEVALUE( UniData[Desc] ) && [TotQty] > 0, SUMX ( TOPN ( [Qty Rank], CALCULATETABLE ( VALUES ( UniData[Desc] ), All( UniData[Desc] ) ), [TotQty] ), [TotQty] ), BLANK() )

This works prior to a date filter being applied. Once the data filter hits (0-4 weeks, 0-13 weeks, etc...) all of the numbers go to 100% or 7880 in the case I am testing on for all products.

Is there a way I can change my measure to allow for additional filters, but only base this running total on whats visible?

Thanks in advance for your patience!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Sean
Community Champion
Community Champion

I've always had this issue with my Running Total formula - works only when there are NO other filters