Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Create "Dimension" Tables Based on Column Value and not Column Header - Need Help

Hi all,

I am new with Power BI and have been trying to solve this for hours but cannot find any answer to my question. I have the below database see screenshot and when I load it into Power Bi, I get the below table in the "data pane" of Power Bi. Instead of having the column header as item to tick/untick when creating a chart, I would like to get the actual column value. 

In other terms, Instead of having Indicators to tick and then I need to filter for EBITDA into my chart, I would like to be able to directly tick/untick "EBITDA" so that it gets included into my chart. By doing so, I would also be able to create e.g. a running total measure based uniquely on EBITDA and not based on "Indicators" which would also in this case include "Costs". 

Is there a way to get tables such as the screenshot below? --> Instead of having Indicators, Scenario Label, ... etc I would get a table (1) with each specific indicators underneath it (table 1, EBITDA, Costs, ...) see screenshot.

This is an example but my database is in reality very big with >50 Indicators and >200k rows

Thanks a LOT if you can help with this

Power Bi.PNG

PS: in my title, I called these table "Dimensions Tables" but I am not 100% this is how it is actually called, sorry for that I am new in the business 😉

5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi and thanks a lot for the quick answer :)! 

I used the first methodology you suggested --> referenced, remove duplicate and loaded the query. It created the table "Indicators". Up to there, all good. BUT I get the following problems now: