Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Converting XML Datetime (e.g. 2018-03-04T14:24:43-08:00) to datetime in PowerBI

I'm completely new to PowerBI so maybe this will be easy.

I have imported my dataset from SQL, which contains a row with XML Datetimes. PowerBI wont recognize this coloumn(Interchange[DateTime]) as datetime. So how can I convert this? I have tried my way around a DAX formular and a Power Query to add an extra coloumn to my dataset with the correctly formatted date. But I think I cannot get the syntax right.

DAX attempt

FormattedDate = FORMAT(Interchange[DateTime];"dd-MM-yyyy")
-> Result is that the new coloumn still shows XML Date - identical to the original.

PowerQuery Attempt

= Table.AddColumn(#"Removed Columns", "Custom", each DateTime.FromText([DateTime], "dd-MM-yyyy"))

-> Result DataFormat.Error: We couldn't parse the input provided as a DateTime value. Details: 2018-03-04T14:24:43-08:00

Any help is appreciated, thanks 🙂

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ryan_mayu
Super User
Super User

@Anonymous

You can also use DAX to create another column to get the date. Hope this is helpful. Thanks.

date = DATE(left(Table1[Column1],4),MID(Table1[Column1],6,2),MID(Table1[Column1],9,2))

c1.JPG

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
tarunsingla
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Your Power Query Attempt failed because the input date is not in the format accepted by the DateTime.FromText function.

Check the supported formats, for that specific function.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powerquery-m/datetime-fromtext.

Your DAX attempt failed probably because of cautions/limitations for the FORMAT function as listed here:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dax/format-function-dax