Forum Discussion
Consolidating PBI Desktop files, Creating/Sharing more than 1 dashboard
- 9 years ago
Exactly !!
You will have to repeat the process of deletion every time you publish.
Also, it is risky if you look at data security point of view.
Suppose User 1 is currently viewing his report and you publish the report at that time, if he refreshes, he will be able to see the other 10 tabs and wonder :D Meanwhile, you will hurry to open the report in Power BI online and delete pages one by one.
So practically not good idea.
If you still want to try this then make sure you un-pin your report from the user dashboards > Publish your file > Delete the tabs and then pin again so that atleast User data is not compromised.Thanks!
Hi Prateekraina,
Worth trying. Thanks for the suggestion.
Question though, if next month I refresh and publish my consolidated file again, do I need to go back to each workspace and repeat the removal of tabs from each report? Basically I'm wondering if the 10 tabs that I had deleted in the first workspace will re-appear after I publish my Desktop file.
Exactly !!
You will have to repeat the process of deletion every time you publish.
Also, it is risky if you look at data security point of view.
Suppose User 1 is currently viewing his report and you publish the report at that time, if he refreshes, he will be able to see the other 10 tabs and wonder :D Meanwhile, you will hurry to open the report in Power BI online and delete pages one by one.
So practically not good idea.
If you still want to try this then make sure you un-pin your report from the user dashboards > Publish your file > Delete the tabs and then pin again so that atleast User data is not compromised.
Thanks!
- a-kachua9 years agoRegular Visitor
Yeah, that's what I thought so too. Thanks for looking into my queries, Prateekraina!