Forum Discussion
Consolidating PBI Desktop files, Creating/Sharing more than 1 dashboard
- 9 years ago
Exactly !!
You will have to repeat the process of deletion every time you publish.
Also, it is risky if you look at data security point of view.
Suppose User 1 is currently viewing his report and you publish the report at that time, if he refreshes, he will be able to see the other 10 tabs and wonder :D Meanwhile, you will hurry to open the report in Power BI online and delete pages one by one.
So practically not good idea.
If you still want to try this then make sure you un-pin your report from the user dashboards > Publish your file > Delete the tabs and then pin again so that atleast User data is not compromised.Thanks!
Thanks for the quick response to my questions, Prateekraina!
I have used RLS feature before, but as I understand it can be applied by selecting a field from my data tables and applying roles. But how do I apply RLS by page? Let's say I want a particular user to access only certain pages in my Power BI report.
Thanks!
Hi a-kachua,
I am afraid you cannot have page level access in Power BI. There is no straight forward mechnaism other than RLS.
Although i have a bizzare suggestion for you :)
If you are so stressing to have a single report with say 20 tabs and then say User1 should have access to 10 tabs and User 2 to other 10 tabs.
> In that case have two separate workspaces, publish your pbix to both of them.
> After that remove/delete the 10 tabs from each report by using Edit Report option in Power BI online and then pin the report on dashboard which can be shared with user.
I know this doesn't seem a legit approach but worth a try.
- a-kachua9 years agoRegular Visitor
Hi Prateekraina,
Worth trying. Thanks for the suggestion.
Question though, if next month I refresh and publish my consolidated file again, do I need to go back to each workspace and repeat the removal of tabs from each report? Basically I'm wondering if the 10 tabs that I had deleted in the first workspace will re-appear after I publish my Desktop file.
- prateekraina9 years ago
Memorable Member
Exactly !!
You will have to repeat the process of deletion every time you publish.
Also, it is risky if you look at data security point of view.
Suppose User 1 is currently viewing his report and you publish the report at that time, if he refreshes, he will be able to see the other 10 tabs and wonder :D Meanwhile, you will hurry to open the report in Power BI online and delete pages one by one.
So practically not good idea.
If you still want to try this then make sure you un-pin your report from the user dashboards > Publish your file > Delete the tabs and then pin again so that atleast User data is not compromised.Thanks!
- a-kachua9 years agoRegular Visitor
Yeah, that's what I thought so too. Thanks for looking into my queries, Prateekraina!