Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

mdsmith1
Helper I
Helper I

Can't get report screen to work

I am brand new to Power BI.  I have been through the tutorials but my screens are not the same.

I have loaded some data which you can see in the graphic but it is graphing a "Count" of my data rather than the actual data. I have tried every button to change this to no avail.

Any help would be appreciated.

Mikepict1.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I am attaching screen shots showing the excel source file and what is plotting.

I don't want Sums, I want the details. I am unable to get a plot of the details.

Mike 

pict1.jpgpict2.jpg

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
hummingbird
Helper II
Helper II

Hi,

If you want to visualize the actual data instead of a count of your data in Power BI, you'll need to make sure that you have chosen the correct field as the "Values" field in your visual.

To do this:

1. Select the visual you want to modify.

2. Go to the "Visualizations" pane.

3. In the "Values" section, choose the field you want to use as the actual data. If you have multiple columns, you may need to select the option to aggregate the data (e.g., sum, average, etc.).

4. You may also need to adjust the formatting options in the "Format" section of the "Visualizations" pane to get the look you want.

I have changed over to the standard Power BI (not desktop) and find this produces reports that are much more useful.  I really believe that tabular reports are much more useful than graphical reports for 99% of business requirements.
Thankyou for all your help.  I will mark this as the Solution.

@mdsmith1 Does that answer your question? Mark it as a solution! 

I am attaching screen shots showing the excel source file and what is plotting.