Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

en2000
Regular Visitor

Calculate Average for Subset of Cohort

Hey All,

I'm fairly new to PowerBI, so I'm doing my best to challenge myself in order to learn more.

I'm building a dashboard to display data for an individual student who has been selected from a slicer.  On the dashboard, is a bar chart that sums a particular value for the student for each year they have attended the school. 

en2000_1-1712182565702.png

Currently, if I understand correctly, the blue line is the average of all students for the year.  However, I want the blue line to represent the average for the selected students year level for each year.  I assume I need to create this in a measure, but I'm not sure where to start.  Any pointers would be great.  Cheers, E.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-jiewu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @en2000 ,

First of all, many thanks to @Ashish_Mathur  for your very quick and effective replies, and I will give some additions below:

1.Create the sample table.

vjiewumsft_0-1712217448285.png

2.Create the measure to calculate average for the selected student.

Selected_student_avg = 
var stu = SELECTEDVALUE('Table'[Student])
VAR sco = CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[Score]), FILTER(ALLEXCEPT('Table', 'Table'[Year]), 'Table'[Student] = stu))
var stu_year = CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[Score]), FILTER(ALLEXCEPT('Table', 'Table'[Year]), MIN('Table'[Year])))
RETURN
DIVIDE(sco, stu_year)

3.Select the slicer visual and drag the student into the visual.

vjiewumsft_1-1712217494635.png

4.Drag the Year into the X-axis. Drag the score into the column y-axis. Drag the measure into the Line y-axis.

vjiewumsft_2-1712217501807.png

5.Select the student in the slicer. The result is shown below.

vjiewumsft_3-1712217508907.png

Best Regards,

Wisdom Wu