Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Find everything you need to get certified on Fabric—skills challenges, live sessions, exam prep, role guidance, and more. Get started

flipfis
Frequent Visitor

Add filter based on value to formula

Hi! I'm new to Power BI and I have a question regarding a formula. 

I have two queries (via web, JSON) with two different subscriptions we offer. In the datasheets, there is a column with "Status" which tells us whether a membership is active or canceled. I have the following formula to get all the customer_id's but I'd like to build a filter in the formula since I only want to show the active memberships (or maybe use a completely different formula :p) 

BothMemberships = DISTINCT(UNION(ALL('PlanA'[customer_id]),ALL('PlanB'[customer_id])))

Anyone that can help me out? Thanks 🙂

4 REPLIES 4
Fowmy
Super User
Super User

@flipfis 

Try this measure

Customers = 

COUNTROWS(
    DISTINCT(
        UNION( 
            CALCULATETABLE(
                VALUES(PlanA[id]),
                PlanA[status] = "active"
            ),
             CALCULATETABLE(
                VALUES(PlanB[id]),
                PlanB[status] = "active"
            )
        )
    )
)
Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution! and hit thumbs up

Subscribe and learn Power BI from these videos

Website LinkedIn PBI User Group

flipfis
Frequent Visitor

Thank you! Work's perfect! But there is happening something weird now. In the measure you created, I get a total row of 1161. But when I use a Q&A and ask "Count active PlanA members" and a different Q&A for "Count active PlanB members", the total of those two combined is 1313. 

I understand this can have many reasons, but do you have a suggestion? 

Hi @flipfis