Forum Discussion
Element115
Memorable Member
2 years agoQUESTION::DATAFLOW GEN 2::Publish vs Save
Does anyone know what is the difference between Publish and close a DFg2 versus just closing the DFg2 and running it later from a pipeline? In other words, if you close out from a DFg2 without pu...
- Anonymous2 years ago
Hi Element115
Thanks for using Fabric Community.Publish vs. Close in Dataflow Gen2:
- Publish: When you publish a Dataflow Gen2, two things happen:
- Validation: The dataflow definition undergoes a validation process to ensure it's error-free and can run successfully. This includes checking for missing connections, invalid transformations, etc.
- Preparation for Refresh: The published dataflow is prepared for the refresh process. This involves generating an orchestration plan and allocating resources for data movement and transformation.
- Close: Closing a Dataflow Gen2 simply saves your current work as a draft and closes the editing window. No validation or refresh preparation occurs.
Running a Closed Dataflow Later:
- Yes, a closed Dataflow Gen2 can be run later from a pipeline. Pipeline does not publish the dataflow for you. So the run will use the last published version.
Hope this helps. Please let me know if you have any further questions.
- Publish: When you publish a Dataflow Gen2, two things happen:
Anonymous
2 years agoNot applicable
Hi Element115
Yes you are right.
Anonymous
2 years agoNot applicable
Hi Element115
Glad that your query got resolved. Please continue using Fabric Community for any help regarding your queries.