Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

renlaforest
Helper I
Helper I

Target to date

Hello - I'm new to Power BI and DAX. I've strugged with figuring out the following.

I have a start date for the project and a close date, and I created a column to calculate the total number of days. 

renlaforest_0-1650896879646.png

I've also got a total target column for those dates. If the total target is 1000, and yesterday was half way through the start and close dates, I'd like the target to be 500. If today's after the close date, I'd like the target to be 1000. For clarify, if today's the close date, and the project is open for 10 days, I'd like the target to be 900.

renlaforest_1-1650897095595.png

In the example above, the target shouldn't be 3288 - it should be 1644 since we're half way through the dates that the project is open.

Thank you in advance for your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi, @renlaforest 

vjaneygmsft_0-1651562814985.png

This error shows that you are using the custom column feature in powerquery.

But the code is DAX, not M code. You need to create it in desktop.

vjaneygmsft_1-1651563004035.png

vjaneygmsft_2-1651563087382.png

Best Regards,
Community Support Team _ Janey
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
renlaforest
Helper I
Helper I

@v-janeyg-msft - the table has dates from 2021 to 2023. The snip that I took is from the top, which only shows the older, closed projects. There are dates in the table that span each week of the year. Hope that helps.

v-janeyg-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @renlaforest