Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

safi
Frequent Visitor

SIMPLE DAX QUERY SEEMINGLY APPEARING LIKE QUANTUM MECHANICS

Hello Everyone, 

Complete Noob to dax here, I am very confused and have been on the verge of quitting trying dax because I just cant wrap my head around how it works at the moment. Having said that, I refuse to throw in a towel and here I am. I am tyring to help someone build a powerbi dashboard and we are trying to model our data to where some basic calculations that are presently being done on an excel sheet can be replicated for our Powerbi model. 

Please consider to the snip below :
MOS@3M = This is months of supply at 3 Months, this a measure; the dax for which is as follows :

divide([qty stock incoming],[Consumption_3M_MonthlyAverage],999)

Lead Time:
this is just a column from a dimensional table, column name is lead time months all of the values are '5' in it as in 5 months of lead time 

Lead time months.JPGtable image.JPG

all i want powerbi to do is just do simple math, i.e = 5 minus 4.88 and the resulting value populated should show up in the last column (this is a column not a measure)
Months supply less leadtime @ 3M. 

the dax im currently using is to calculate is : 

MOS_Less_LeadTime_3M = if([MOS_3M]=999,999,  CALCULATE([MOS_3M]-AVERAGE('Dimension Item'[average lead time])))

this is only one iteration, i have used sumx, sum and what not, i just get wonky numbers and i dont know why? my understanding is that a sumx should infact work if i do a simple substraction formula but now that doesnt work, 

I am pulling my hair out because i feel at this point this so unintuitive that its discouraging me to not even proceed.

any help and any book reccomendation would be very helpful for me to not give up on this.