Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Find everything you need to get certified on Fabric—skills challenges, live sessions, exam prep, role guidance, and more. Get started

prv_1401
Helper I
Helper I

Dax measure to get previous 7days and next 7days of selected date

Hey guys !

I am very new to PowerBI. Could you suggest me the Dax functions or the syntax with any examples to solve this issue .

I have to show a line chart visual which shows the previous 7days value and after 7days value of a selected date . So if I select a particular date the measure should filter the visual according to it and show according to the requirement .

Appreciate any help. Thank you ♥️

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
PaulOlding
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @prv_1401 

This solution uses a disconnected date table called 'Date Selector' (meaning it's a date table without any relationship to another table).  The slicer should use this table.

7and7 = 
VAR _SelectedDate = SELECTEDVALUE('Date Selector'[Date])
VAR _Dates = DATESBETWEEN('Date'[Date], _SelectedDate - 7, _SelectedDate + 7)
VAR _Result =
CALCULATE(
    [Total Sales],
    KEEPFILTERS(_Dates)
    )
RETURN
    _Result

PaulOlding_0-1662410077765.png

The line chart uses the Date column from the Date table.

PaulOlding_1-1662410097109.png

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
PaulOlding
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @prv_1401 

This solution uses a disconnected date table called 'Date Selector' (meaning it's a date table without any relationship to another table).  The slicer should use this table.

7and7 = 
VAR _SelectedDate = SELECTEDVALUE('Date Selector'[Date])
VAR _Dates = DATESBETWEEN('Date'[Date], _SelectedDate - 7, _SelectedDate + 7)
VAR _Result =
CALCULATE(
    [Total Sales],
    KEEPFILTERS(_Dates)
    )
RETURN
    _Result

PaulOlding_0-1662410077765.png

The line chart uses the Date column from the Date table.

PaulOlding_1-1662410097109.png

Hi ..Thank you for replying