Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

desspirova

DAX command to multiply by 100% a.k.a. x is what % of y

Hi,

I'm quite new to Power BI and what I'm trying to do is a report on Power BI desktop tracking expenses vs budget. For one of my tables, I want to show a columnt with the current spent (I've done that), a column with the budget (done that too) and another column to show the % of the budget that has been consumed already. So basically x (current spent) is what % of y (budget). I tried the below but it didn't work

Consumed = CALCULATE(DIVIDE(SUM('Data23n24'[Current spent]), SUM('BugetFY24'[Total FY24 estimate]))*100%)

Any suggestions how to fix the syntax? 

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-kaiyue-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @desspirova ,

Thanks @DAX_Machine  for sharing, here are some suggestions, I hope they can be helpful to you.
Based on your description, I created two tables.

vkaiyuemsft_0-1711609210044.png
vkaiyuemsft_1-1711609210045.png

1. If you want to calculate the percentage of each row's cost to the total budget, you can write an expression.

Column =
CALCULATE(DIVIDE(SUM('Table'[current spent]),SUM('Table 2'[budget])))

And select "%" in column tools to format the result as a percentage. The number 2 means keeping two decimal places. You can adjust it according to your needs.

vkaiyuemsft_2-1711609253519.png

2. If you want to calculate the total cost as a percentage of the total budget, you can write an expression.

Column 2 =
DIVIDE(SUM('Table'[current spent]),SUM('Table 2'[budget]))

It also needs to be changed to percentage format.

vkaiyuemsft_3-1711609264141.png

The final result is shown below.

vkaiyuemsft_4-1711609288090.png

If your Current Period does not refer to this, please clarify in a follow-up reply.

Best Regards,