Forum Discussion
workspace upgrade to v2-- queue - start and completion
Admin Portal-- Workspaces: Several of my workspaces show upgrade status completed -- For the workspace I need now to be V2 how can I tell when it will be started and completed? How can I start it if not already in the queue? Also is there a property (UI) to tell that it is V2?
Workspace upgrades are near instant. Only takes a few seconds.
They will have a toolbar that looks like this:and if you go to the workspace settings there will be a DELETE button. You cannot delete Gen1 workspaces from PowerBI.
If you go to the Admin Panel for Power BI and select Workspaces, all new workspaces are of type Workspace. The originals were type Group.
Not sure what status you are referring to. If it was upgraded a long time ago, or never upgraded because it was v2 to start with (they stopped allowing v1 workgroup creating long a go) there might not be a status to show.
Ahh - ok, thanks for the screenshot.
- The "Bulk Upgrade" dialog at the top is there for everyone, whether you have workspaces eligible for upgrade or not. There is no intelligence to it. Ignore it if you have no workspaces that are Group type.
- I am not sure how long the "completed" status remains. None of my workspaces show it was completed because I did all of mine over a year ago, so I think at some point that history goes away. As long as they are all set to "Workspace" you are good.
5 Replies
- edhansCommunity Champion
Workspace upgrades are near instant. Only takes a few seconds.
They will have a toolbar that looks like this:and if you go to the workspace settings there will be a DELETE button. You cannot delete Gen1 workspaces from PowerBI.
If you go to the Admin Panel for Power BI and select Workspaces, all new workspaces are of type Workspace. The originals were type Group.
- timrobertsusaFrequent Visitor
also notifications I found-- Upgrade classic workspaces to the new workspaces - Power BI | Microsoft Docs
It is wierd that the only way is to see workspaces instead of group. Thank you for replying and your answer. The TYpe says Workspace but the Status is blank and many say complete. What does Status= blank or complete mean?
- edhansCommunity Champion
Not sure what status you are referring to. If it was upgraded a long time ago, or never upgraded because it was v2 to start with (they stopped allowing v1 workgroup creating long a go) there might not be a status to show.
- timrobertsusaFrequent Visitor
screenshot admin portal workspace--showing upgrade status??Blank vs Completed??
- edhansCommunity Champion
Ahh - ok, thanks for the screenshot.
- The "Bulk Upgrade" dialog at the top is there for everyone, whether you have workspaces eligible for upgrade or not. There is no intelligence to it. Ignore it if you have no workspaces that are Group type.
- I am not sure how long the "completed" status remains. None of my workspaces show it was completed because I did all of mine over a year ago, so I think at some point that history goes away. As long as they are all set to "Workspace" you are good.