Forum Discussion

vsagan's avatar
vsagan
Icon for Advocate IV rankAdvocate IV
9 years ago

Dashboards in groups sharing with non-pro users

As of yesterday all of our dashboards in groups which were shared directly with other non-pro users are no longer accessible by non-pro users.

 

Is this intentional?

7 Replies

  • Anonymous's avatar
    Anonymous
    Not applicable

    vsagan Yes. This post explains certain areas where the messaging was un-clear. You could also read that as "There were some areas where the tool was allowing Pro to Non-Pro features to be shared, we have now fixed those issues and PBI is now behaving the way it should based on how we are licensing the product."

     

    A Group Workspace is a Pro feature, as such, all end users need a Pro license.

    • vsagan's avatar
      vsagan
      Icon for Advocate IV rankAdvocate IV

       I've looked through documentation prior to Dec 2016 using internet archiving and there is NO mention of requiring pro to share dashboards in groups with users outside the group, only that a user needs pro to be in a group.

       

      Review of any webpage documentation around this that has been updated since has only since added this requirement.  A change in documentation and function llike this is not a 'fix' but a major licencing change.  

       

      If previous documentation existed which explicitly said 'Dashboards in groups can only be shared with pro users' then this would be a fix.  I have not been able to find such documenation.

       

      Groups are a major organisational requirement for workflow, but are dashboards are then shared with 1000's of people which no longer works.



      • Anonymous's avatar
        Anonymous
        Not applicable

        vsagan I understand this is an impact for you and your organization, but it has been very clear from the begining that any "Pro" feature used in the creation or distribution of Reports/Dashboards will require the end user to also have a Pro license. The argument that "it worked" isn't really grounds to say that it still should, the licensing hasn't changed, the enforcement of the licensing did. The licensing page has always had the entirety of "collaboration" under the "Pro" license only. I can understand the frustration of not finding an explicit answer up front, but there have been many posts and discussions from day one on this Community outlining how "Pro" worked.