Forum Discussion
QUESTION::DATAFLOW GEN 2::Publish vs Save
Does anyone know what is the difference between Publish and close a DFg2 versus just closing the DFg2 and running it later from a pipeline?
In other words, if you close out from a DFg2 without publishing, and run it later (say, 1 day later) from a pipeline, does this mean that this DFg2 will automatically go through its first cylce of publish-->refresh, or not?
And if not, does this mean that when the pipeline runs the DFg2, the data will be stale, ie yesterday's data?
- Anonymous2 years ago
Hi Element115
Thanks for using Fabric Community.Publish vs. Close in Dataflow Gen2:
- Publish: When you publish a Dataflow Gen2, two things happen:
- Validation: The dataflow definition undergoes a validation process to ensure it's error-free and can run successfully. This includes checking for missing connections, invalid transformations, etc.
- Preparation for Refresh: The published dataflow is prepared for the refresh process. This involves generating an orchestration plan and allocating resources for data movement and transformation.
- Close: Closing a Dataflow Gen2 simply saves your current work as a draft and closes the editing window. No validation or refresh preparation occurs.
Running a Closed Dataflow Later:
- Yes, a closed Dataflow Gen2 can be run later from a pipeline. Pipeline does not publish the dataflow for you. So the run will use the last published version.
Hope this helps. Please let me know if you have any further questions.
- Publish: When you publish a Dataflow Gen2, two things happen:
6 Replies
- AnonymousNot applicable
Hi Element115
Thanks for using Fabric Community.Publish vs. Close in Dataflow Gen2:
- Publish: When you publish a Dataflow Gen2, two things happen:
- Validation: The dataflow definition undergoes a validation process to ensure it's error-free and can run successfully. This includes checking for missing connections, invalid transformations, etc.
- Preparation for Refresh: The published dataflow is prepared for the refresh process. This involves generating an orchestration plan and allocating resources for data movement and transformation.
- Close: Closing a Dataflow Gen2 simply saves your current work as a draft and closes the editing window. No validation or refresh preparation occurs.
Running a Closed Dataflow Later:
- Yes, a closed Dataflow Gen2 can be run later from a pipeline. Pipeline does not publish the dataflow for you. So the run will use the last published version.
Hope this helps. Please let me know if you have any further questions.
- Element115
Memorable Member
Thanks for the clarification. So just to confirm I understand the Running a Closed Dataflow Later properly:
Let's consider the following example:
0__create DF for the first time (1 M query only).
1__publish --> refresh.
2__open DF and change the M query.
3__close without publishing.
4__pipeline runs DF.
When step 4 occurs, the M query that gets executed is the one from step 1, not the one with the new changes from step 2. Is this correct?
- AnonymousNot applicable
Hi Element115
Yes you are right.
- Publish: When you publish a Dataflow Gen2, two things happen: